IL · read September 28, 2026

Illinois LLC cost

What Illinois' official pages state about the cost of a standard domestic LLC: the filing fee, the annual report and any annual tax, each with the page it was read on and the date.

Formation document
Articles of Organization (Form LLC-5.5)
Formation fee
$150 source, read 2026-09-28 note
Periodic report
Limited Liability Company Annual Report (Form LLC-50.1), every year
Report fee
$75 source, read 2026-09-28 note
Report due
Each year before the first day of the LLC's anniversary month (the month in which the LLC was organized) source, read 2026-09-28
Annual tax
not read note
Tax due
not read
Publication
not read

Scope: a standard domestic LLC at standard processing speed, filed online where the online and paper fees differ. The figure shown is the one the cited page states; an add-on or a paper fee that the page also states is in the note under the figure, and nothing is computed from a note.

Illinois LLC filing fee

$150 to file the Articles of Organization (Form LLC-5.5)

Note from the reading Online: $150 with 10-business-day processing, or $250 with 24-hour service; a payment processor fee is added to card transactions (amount not stated). The forms table lists Form LLC 5.5 at $150 with an additional $100 expedited fee. The page states no separate paper fee.

“Articles of Organization $150 (10 business days); $250 (24-hour service)”
Read 2026-09-28 (UTC) at www.ilsos.gov/departments/business-services/organization…

Illinois LLC annual report and due date

$75 to file the Limited Liability Company Annual Report (Form LLC-50.1), every year

Note from the reading Fee read from the LLC forms table (row 'LLC 50.1 Limited Liability Company Annual Report', fee $75, additional expedited fee $50). The due-date rule and the late penalty were read in the Secretary of State's guide C 334 (https://www.ilsos.gov/content/dam/publications/pdf_publications/c334.pdf): 'The annual report is due before the first day of the LLC's anniversary month each year.' A $100 penalty applies if the report is not filed within 60 days after the due date. A payment processor fee is added to online card payments.

Report
Limited Liability Company Annual Report (Form LLC-50.1)
Required
Yes
How often
Every year
Fee
$75
Due
Each year before the first day of the LLC's anniversary month (the month in which the LLC was organized)
Calendar date
None: the date depends on when the LLC was formed
Read
2026-09-28 (UTC)
“LLC 50.1 Limited Liability Company Annual Report $75 $50”
Read 2026-09-28 (UTC) at www.ilsos.gov/publications/business-services/llc.html

Illinois LLC annual tax or franchise tax

not read

Not read. No official page was read that states whether Illinois charges LLCs an annual, franchise or privilege tax separate from the annual report fee. The Secretary of State's LLC fee table lists no franchise tax line for LLCs, but no page read says in words that none applies. Illinois Department of Revenue pages were not read.

Not read is not the same as no tax. It means no official page was read that says whether Illinois charges an LLC an annual, franchise or privilege tax separate from the report fee.

Publication requirement

not read

Not read. No official page that was read states a publication rule either way.

Looked for and not read

  • Whether Illinois charges LLCs any annual or franchise tax separate from the annual report fee: no official statement read; Illinois Department of Revenue not read.
  • The amount of the payment processor fee added to online filings: not stated on the pages read.

The researcher's notes

Written by the researcher who read the pages, unedited. Field names such as due_kind are the names in this site's data file.

ilsos.gov refuses automated fetching (curl fails, the fetch tool gets HTTP 403); every Illinois page was read in a real browser session instead, and the C 334 PDF was read by extracting its text in that session. The fee quotes from the forms page are table rows (cells: form number, form name, fee, additional expedited fee). The online LLC annual report instructions page has a 'Fees' heading but states no amount; the $75 comes from the forms table and matches the fee table printed in guide C 334 ('LLC-50.1 Annual Report 75 50'). publication.required=false rests on absence in the official guide. PUBLICATION (orchestrator, 2026-09-28): recorded as not read. The researcher observed: No publication step appears in the Secretary of State's guide to organizing a domestic LLC or on the online filing instructions; this is read from absence, not from an explicit statement that none is required.

Fees change. The state's own page is the authority: open the source link beside a figure before you file or pay. This desk is a reading of public pages. It is not legal advice and it is not tax advice.