KY · read September 28, 2026

Kentucky LLC cost

What Kentucky's official pages state about the cost of a standard domestic LLC: the filing fee, the annual report and any annual tax, each with the page it was read on and the date.

Formation document
Articles of Organization
Formation fee
$40 source, read 2026-09-28 note
Periodic report
Annual Report, every year
Report fee
$15 source, read 2026-09-28 note
Report due
By June 30 each year; reports can be filed any time between January 1 and June 30 source, read 2026-09-28
Annual tax
from $175, Limited Liability Entity Tax (LLET) source, read 2026-09-28 note
Tax due
not read
Publication
not read

Scope: a standard domestic LLC at standard processing speed, filed online where the online and paper fees differ. The figure shown is the one the cited page states; an add-on or a paper fee that the page also states is in the note under the figure, and nothing is computed from a note.

Kentucky LLC filing fee

$40 to file the Articles of Organization

Note from the reading Listed under 'Domestic Limited Liability Company (Profit, Non-Profit or Professional Service)'. The page states one fee and no separate online or paper fee. The paper form KLC (7/25) states the same: 'The filing fee for the document is $40.00.' (https://web.sos.ky.gov/forms/corp/KLC-Articles%20of%20Organization-Profit%20Limited%20Liability%20Company.pdf). The form says the fee is waived for a veteran-owned business under KRS 14A.2-165.

“Articles of Organization: $40.00”
Read 2026-09-28 (UTC) at www.sos.ky.gov/bus/business-filings/Pages/Fees.aspx

Kentucky LLC annual report and due date

$15 to file the Annual Report, every year

Note from the reading The fee schedule page lists the same amount for a domestic LLC ('Annual Report: $15.00', https://www.sos.ky.gov/bus/business-filings/Pages/Fees.aspx). Domestic entities that fail to file by June 30 are administratively dissolved; the reinstatement penalty listed on the fee page is $100.00.

Report
Annual Report
Required
Yes
How often
Every year
Fee
$15
Due
By June 30 each year; reports can be filed any time between January 1 and June 30
Calendar date
June 30
Read
2026-09-28 (UTC)
“Your annual report must be signed, dated and accompanied by a $15 filing fee.”
Read 2026-09-28 (UTC) at www.sos.ky.gov/bus/business-filings/Pages/Annual-Reports.…

Kentucky LLC annual tax or franchise tax

from $175 Limited Liability Entity Tax (LLET). A minimum: every LLC the tax reaches pays at least this

The rule $175 is the minimum, paid when total gross receipts or total gross profits are $3 million or less. Above $6 million the tax is the smaller of 0.095% of Kentucky gross receipts or 0.75% of Kentucky gross profits; between $3 million and $6 million a sliding-scale formula applies.

Note from the reading Paid to the Kentucky Department of Revenue, not the Secretary of State, and separate from the $15 annual report. The due date of the LLET return was not stated on the page read (the page gives only estimated-payment installment dates). The page says some business types are statutorily exempt.

Due
not read
Read
2026-09-28 (UTC)
“If either total gross receipts or total gross profits amounts to $3 million or less, then the company just pays a $175 minimum LLET.”
Read 2026-09-28 (UTC) at revenue.ky.gov/Business/Corporation-Income-and-Limited-Li…

Publication requirement

not read

Not read. No official page that was read states a publication rule either way.

Looked for and not read

  • The due date of the Limited Liability Entity Tax return: not stated on the Department of Revenue page read.
  • https://revenue.ky.gov/Business/Limited-Liability-Entity-Tax/Pages/default.aspx returned 404; the LLET was read on the combined Corporation Income and LLET page instead.

The researcher's notes

Written by the researcher who read the pages, unedited. Field names such as due_kind are the names in this site's data file.

tax.amount_usd is the $175 MINIMUM Limited Liability Entity Tax, not a flat amount for every LLC; the rule field carries the rest. The generator should present it as 'from $175'. The form's instructions mention a copy for the local county clerk's office; that is a recording step, not newspaper publication, and the pages read do not state whether it is mandatory for an LLC. publication.required=false rests on absence in the official instructions. PUBLICATION (orchestrator, 2026-09-28): recorded as not read. The researcher observed: No newspaper publication step appears in the instructions on the Articles of Organization form; this is read from absence, not from an explicit statement that none is required. The form's instructions do refer to delivering a copy of the filing to the local county clerk's office.

Fees change. The state's own page is the authority: open the source link beside a figure before you file or pay. This desk is a reading of public pages. It is not legal advice and it is not tax advice.