ME · read September 28, 2026

Maine LLC cost

What Maine's official pages state about the cost of a standard domestic LLC: the filing fee, the annual report and any annual tax, each with the page it was read on and the date.

Formation document
Certificate of Formation (Form MLLC-6)
Formation fee
$175 source, read 2026-09-28 note
Periodic report
Annual Report, every year
Report fee
$85 source, read 2026-09-28 note
Report due
By June 1 each year, filed between January 1 and June 1; the first report is due in the year after the calendar year of formation source, read 2026-09-28
Annual tax
not read note
Tax due
not read
Publication
not read

Scope: a standard domestic LLC at standard processing speed, filed online where the online and paper fees differ. The figure shown is the one the cited page states; an add-on or a paper fee that the page also states is in the note under the figure, and nothing is computed from a note.

Maine LLC filing fee

$175 to file the Certificate of Formation (Form MLLC-6)

Note from the reading Read from the LLC forms-and-fees table (row 'MLLC-6 Certificate of Formation', $175.00). The form itself (Rev. 6/26/2024) is headed 'Filing Fee $175.00' (https://www.maine.gov/sos/sites/maine.gov.sos/files/inline-files/mllc6.pdf). The page describes forms to complete, print and mail; it states no separate online fee. Optional expedite per the form's cover letter: $50 for 24-hour, $100 for same-day. The same page gives a processing time of 40 - 55 business days.

“Certificate of Formation Small Business Resources Commercial Clerk and Commercial Registered Agent (CRA) Search $175.00”
Read 2026-09-28 (UTC) at www.maine.gov/sos/corporations-commissions/i-need-a-busi…

Maine LLC annual report and due date

$85 to file the Annual Report, every year

Note from the reading $85 for domestic business entities ($150 foreign). Due-date wording on the same page: 'The legal filing deadline is June 1st.' A late filing penalty is assessed if the report is not received by the deadline (amount not stated on the page read). The LLC forms table lists the same fee: 'MLLC-13 Annual Report - Domestic $85.00'.

Report
Annual Report
Required
Yes
How often
Every year
Fee
$85
Due
By June 1 each year, filed between January 1 and June 1; the first report is due in the year after the calendar year of formation
Calendar date
June 1
Read
2026-09-28 (UTC)
“The annual report fee is $85 for domestic business entities, $150 for foreign business entities”
Read 2026-09-28 (UTC) at www.maine.gov/sos/corporations-commissions/incorporating…

Maine LLC annual tax or franchise tax

not read

Not read. No official page was read that states whether Maine charges LLCs an annual, franchise or privilege tax separate from the annual report fee. The Secretary of State pages read do not mention one; Maine Revenue Services pages were not read.

Not read is not the same as no tax. It means no official page was read that says whether Maine charges an LLC an annual, franchise or privilege tax separate from the report fee.

Publication requirement

not read

Not read. No official page that was read states a publication rule either way.

Looked for and not read

  • Whether Maine charges LLCs any annual or franchise tax separate from the annual report fee: no official statement read.
  • The amount of the late filing penalty for an annual report: not stated on the pages read.
  • Whether a Certificate of Formation can be filed online, and at what fee: not stated on the pages read.

The researcher's notes

Written by the researcher who read the pages, unedited. Field names such as due_kind are the names in this site's data file.

The formation quote is a table row whose middle cell holds two helper links ('Small Business Resources', 'Commercial Clerk and Commercial Registered Agent (CRA) Search') between the document title and the fee; the form PDF states the same fee in plain words ('Filing Fee $175.00'). Do not confuse MLLC-6 ($175.00) with MLLC-6A, the Restated Certificate of Formation ($80.00), which a search engine surfaces as 'Filing Fee $80.00'. publication.required=false rests on absence in the official pages. PUBLICATION (orchestrator, 2026-09-28): recorded as not read. The researcher observed: No publication step appears on the Certificate of Formation form or on the Division of Corporations' LLC forms page; this is read from absence, not from an explicit statement that none is required.

Fees change. The state's own page is the authority: open the source link beside a figure before you file or pay. This desk is a reading of public pages. It is not legal advice and it is not tax advice.